CYNGOR SIR POWYS COUNTY COUNCIL.

County Council 3 May, 2019

REPORT AUTHOR:	Solicitor to the Council
SUBJECT:	Review of the Electoral Arrangements for the County of Powys – Final Recommendations Report
REPORT FOR:	Decision

 The Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales (LDBC) has submitted its Final Recommendations Report to the County Council. The full report can be accessed on the LDBCW's website as follows:

https://ldbc.gov.wales/reviews/03-19/powys-final-recommendations

2. A summary of the final recommendations as set out in the report is attached as **Appendix 1**.

Details of the current electoral divisions and the proposed electoral divisions are set out at **Appendices 2 and 3** respectively. Appendix 1 contains a link reference between the existing and new proposals against each electoral division.

- 3. In summary, the final proposals include:
 - The reduction in the overall membership of the Council from 73 Members to 68 Members
 - The creation of the new electoral divisions of:

Brecon East;

Brecon West;

Ithon Valley;

Newtown East:

Newtown West;

Tawe Fellte:

Trelystan and Trewern;

Yscir with Honddu Isaf and Llanddew

• The creation of the following multiple Member electoral divisions:

Aber-craf and Ystradgynlais (2 Members);

Brecon East (2 Members);

Brecon West (2 Members);

Crickhowell with Cwmdu and Tretower (2 Members):

Knighton with Beguildy (2 Members);

Llandrindod South (2 Members);

Llanidloes (2 Members):

Newtown Central and South (2 Members)

 The following electoral divisions are proposed for deletion (these will be amalgamated into existing or new electoral divisions): Llanbadarn-Fawr; Newtown Llanllwchaiarn North; Newtown Llanllwchaiarn West: St David Within (Brecon); St John (Brecon); St Mary (Brecon); Tawe-Uchaf: Ystradgynlais

- 4. The remaining electoral divisions will be:
 - amalgamated wholly or partly into an electoral division of the same name as previously (e.g. Llanbrynmair (old) to (Llanbrynmair (new);
 - amalgamated wholly or partly into a brand new or renamed electoral division (b) (e.g. Llandinam (old) to Llandinam with Dolfor (new);
 - (c) remain unchanged, but some have wards moved to other electoral divisions (e.g. Glasbury (new) has Painscastle ward removed and Guilsfield (new) has Castle Caereinion ward removed)

Recommendation to the County Council:	Reason for Recommendation:
(i) that the Council notes the recommendations of the Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales (ii) that the Council considers any comments it may wish to make as a response to the proposals.	To consider the final proposals by the LDWC on the electoral arrangements for Powys

	- /				
Within Policy:	Υ	Within Budget:	Y		
Relevant Local Member(s): N/A					
Person(s) To Implement Decision:		Wyn Richards			
Date By When Dec	cision To Be Imple	mented: May 2018			

Contact Officer: Wyn Richards, Scrutiny Manager and Head of Democratic Services.

01597-826375

Tel:

Relevant Policy (ies):

Email: wyn.richards@powys.gov.uk

Background Papers used to prepare Report: