# MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE STANDARDS COMMUNITY SUB-COMMITTEE, HELD AT COUNTY HALL, LLANDRINDOD WELLS ON WEDNESDAY 5<sup>th</sup> FEBRUARY 2014

**PRESENT:** Mrs H. Rhydderch-Roberts (Chair)

Mrs J. Evans, Mrs M. Harris, Mrs S. Jarman, Mr R. Miller, Community Councillors Ms C. Evans, H. Pattrick and D. Pugh and County Councillor G. Williams.

Observers: County Councillors Mrs M. Mackenzie, P. Medlicott and S. Hayes

**Officers in Attendance:** C. Pinney (Solicitor to the Council), Ms S. Tamboo (Solicitor – Corporate) and Mrs E Patterson (Scrutiny Officer).

### 1. APOLOGIES STCS1 – 2014

An apology for absence was received from W. Richards (Scrutiny Manager and Interim Head of Democratic Services).

### 2. MINUTES STCS2 – 2014

The Chair was authorised to sign the minutes of the previous meeting held on 6<sup>th</sup> November 2013 as a correct record.

### 3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST STCS3 – 2014

No declarations of interest were received.

# 3. REPORT OF THE SOLICITOR TO THE COUNCIL STCS4 – 2014

The Sub-Committee received the report of the Solicitor to the Council. (Copy filed with signed minutes)

#### A. Referral of Councillors to the Public Services Ombudsman.

### A1. Town and Community Councillor Referrals.

The following update on referrals to the Ombudsman was given:

18/12/TCC – the Adjudication Panel for Wales is considering this case. The Monitoring Officer advised that it had been intended that the case would be heard by way of a Public Hearing on 20/21 February 2014 but that the ex-Community Councillor had indicated that he would not attend and therefore the matter would be conducted by way of written representations on either 20<sup>th</sup> or 21<sup>st</sup> February 2014. The outcome will be published on the website of the Adjudication Panel for Wales.

07/13/TCC – decided not to investigate.

#### B. Dispensations.

No applications for dispensation were received.

### C Membership of Standards Committee

The process for appointing an Independent (Lay) Member to replace Mrs Harris has commenced with other 100 expressions of interest made to date.

The Appointment Panel consists of the following representatives:

Independent (Lay) Member	High Sheriff Mr Bernard Harris
Chair of Standards Committee	Independent Member Mrs Helen
	Rhydderch-Roberts
Vice Chair of Standards Committee	Mr Ralph Miller
County Council Representative	To be appointed
from Standards Committee	
Community Councillor	To be appointed
Representative from Standards	
Sub-Committee	

Resolved that Community Councillor Mr D. Pugh be appointed as Community Council Representative to the Appointments Panel with Community Councillor Ms C.Evans as a reserve.

#### **D** Constitution

Considered under the Standards Committee where the following comments were made:

#### Section 18

- Check numbering
- Check formatting
- Clarify the wording in the following sections:
  - o 11 Public Behaviour
  - o 23.1 Powers of the Standards Committee
  - o 23.2 Powers of the Standards Committee
- Change 'formerly' to 'formally' in section 24.7.1
- Clarify the wording in section 17.3 to show that the Ombudsman sends a report to the Monitoring Officer and it is the Monitoring Officer who shares it with the Standards Committee

#### Part 4

 Paragraph 17 Register of Members Interests – include the current value specified by the authority above which it is necessary to provide written notification of receipt.

The comments would be considered by the Constitution Working Group. The draft Constitution would be considered by the Democratic Services Committee before being taken to Full Council for approval.

### E Ombudsman's Case Book

The Committee requested further details around cases regarding what is acceptable behaviour in the political arena compared to acceptable behaviour on a personal level.

## F Meeting Dates

The following dates for the Sub-Committee were confirmed:

9<sup>th</sup> April 2014 25<sup>th</sup> June 2014 3<sup>rd</sup> September 2014 3<sup>rd</sup> December 2014

All meetings to commence at 10.00am with the option of training available afterwards.

Mrs H Rhydderch-Roberts Chair