Cllr. Sandra Davies, Chair of Democratic Services Committee Powys County Council.

Dear Sandra,

RE: Constitutional arrangements for election of Council Chairperson/Vice Chairs.

We the undersigned would request that the Constitution Working Group, which is currently working on a new Constitution for the Council, should consider the arrangements for the future election of the Council Chairperson.

Currently under the constitution, the Chair of Council is chosen on a Shire basis, with the Chair coming alternately from each Shire within Powys (Brecon, Radnor and Montgomeryshire). Vice chairs are elected in similar rotation to facilitate the appointment of the Chair on this basis.

However, we the undersigned, feel that this current arrangement is very unfair considering that the Council is made up of 34 Members from Montgomeryshire, 24 from Brecon and only 15 from Radnor area. We therefore consider that the current historic arrangements are totally unfair to the Montgomery and Brecon Shire areas. We therefore request that the Constitution Working Group look at this with a view to possibly coming up with rotation arrangements that are more fair and more accurately reflect the Membership make-up of the Council, thus providing a similar opportunity to all Councillors in Powys, who wish to aspire to the office of Chairperson of Council.

This matter was raised at the last Montgomery 'Shire' Committee Meeting and although not actually an agenda item, this met with considerable support within the meeting and it was suggested that the best way forward was for the two Members who had raised the matter, to write to the Democratic Services Committee with a request that this receives urgent consideration by the Constitution Working Group.

We would be very happy to attend the Committee to discuss this matter in detail, should you so wish.

Yours sincerely,

Clir. Wynne Jones (Elected Member for Dolforwyn Ward)

Cllr. Phil Pritchard (Elected Member for Welshpool Castle Ward)

Appointment of Chair of Council –views from Shires

At the DSC meeting on 4th April the following was agreed:

1. That the views of the Shire Committees be sought regarding the appointment process for Council Chair and that these be forwarded to the Constitution Working Group for consideration.

#### 23<sup>rd</sup> April – Radnorshire:

## 8. RADNORSHIRE MEETINGS

RS33-2014

### 8.2 Chairmanship of Council – Proportional Appointments

Having considered the proposal to appoint to the position of Chair of Council based on the proportion of members in each shire as opposed to there being a yearly rotation per shire members **RESOLVED** to support continuing with the arrangement for the Chairmanship of Council to be rotated each year between the shires i.e. to retain the status quo. The view would be reported back to the most appropriate committee.

### 7<sup>th</sup> May Montgomeryshire meeting:

# 9. MONTGOMERYSHIRE SHIRE WORKING GROUP

MS39-2014

Members received the notes from the meeting of the Montgomeryshire Shire Working Group held on Wednesday 9<sup>th</sup> April 2014. During discussion and noting the request to provide a view from the shire in relation to appointing to the Chair of Council position based proportionally on the number of members per shire as opposed to rotating it year on year by shire members **RESOLVED** to **RECOMMEND** to the appropriate Committee that:

'appointments to the position of Chair of Council should be made based proportionally using the number of members per shire to determine the frequency'

# 28<sup>th</sup> May – Brecknockshire

### 9. SHIRE MEETINGS

BS32-2014

## 9.2 Appointments to the Chairman of Council

Members agreed that any change to the current system to appointing to the Chairman of Council position, if agreed, should be introduced in the life of the new Council. There are varying views from shire members in terms of retaining the status quo and changing to proportional arrangements. It was felt that a review should include consideration of arrangements for continuing to operate shire meetings.