MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE DEMOCRATIC SERVICES COMMITTEE HELD AT COUNTY HALL, LLANDRINDOD WELLS ON THURSDAY 2ND MAY, 2013

PRESENT: County Councillor Mrs S. Davies [Chairman]

County Councillors Mrs D. Bailey, Dr G.J. Bowker, S. Davies, D.O. Evans, D.C. Jones, W.J.T. Powell, T. Turner and D.H. Williams.

1. APOLOGIES DSC23-2013

Apologies for absence were received from County Councillor P.J. Ashton, M.J. Jones and Mrs D.G. Thomas who were on other Council business and Mrs L.V. Corfield, P.E. Lewis and P.C. Pritchard.

The Chairman welcomed the Strategic Director – Resources to the meeting. He thanked the Chairman for allowing him to bring to the Committee the need to appoint an Interim Head of Democratic Services. He advised that this was a statutory role which was previously held by Janet Kealey, Head of Legal, Scrutiny and Democratic Services. As the Committee was aware the restructuring process was continuing and he therefore recommended that Wyn Richards, Scrutiny Manager be the Interim Head of Democratic Services. The appointment would be considered at the next Committee meeting in July, 2013.

Resolved that Wyn Richards, Scrutiny Manager be appointed the Interim Head of Democratic Services.

The Chairman was authorised to sign as a correct record the minutes of the meeting held on 5th April, 2013.

3. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST DSC25-2013

There were no declarations of interest.

4. COUNCIL'S CONSTITUTION DSC26-2013

The Committee considered the revised sections of the Constitution (copy filed with the signed minutes).

It was noted that the revisions took into account changes previously agreed by the Council, changes in structures and legislation over the last two years. The Committee was advised that Article 12 – Officers required further clarification as appointment of officers were confirmed.

RESOLVED:	REASON FOR DECISION:
That the revised Constitution be agreed	To ensure that the Constitution
and recommended for adoption by	reflects changes previously

Council.	agreed by the Council,
	changes in structures and
	legislation.

County Councillor Mrs S. Davies Chairman