MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE DEMOCRATIC SERVICES COMMITTEE HELD AT COUNTY HALL, LLANDRINDOD WELLS ON 15 FEBRUARY, 2013

PRESENT: County Councillor Mrs S. Davies [Chairman]

County Councillors P.J. Ashton, Mrs D. Bailey, Dr G.J. Bowker, Mrs L.V. Corfield, S. Davies, D.O. Evans, D.C. Jones, M.J. Jones, W.J.T. Powell, P.C. Pritchard, Mrs D.G. Thomas, T. Turner and D.H. Williams.

Apologies for absence were received from County Councillor P.E.Lewis.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST DSC12-2013
--

There were no declarations of interest.

The Committee considered the report of the Head of Democratic Services (copy filed with the signed minutes).

Part 1 of the Local Government (Wales) Measure 2011 contained provisions intended to strengthen local democracy. Section 5 required local authorities to ensure that all members could make annual reports and that these are published by the authority. The Committee noted that the Member Development Working Group had piloted an annual report template and that amendments had been made to this to reflect Members' views. The Member Development Working Group commented that writing the reports was a useful process and the template was easy to complete.

It was also noted that final guidance from the Welsh Assembly was awaited.

RESOLVED:	REASON FOR DECISION:
To recommend to the Council approval of the Member Annual Report template, subject to the receipt of further national guidance, the timetable and process for completion and publication.	To ensure the publication of Members' Annual Reports.

County Councillor Mrs S. Davies Chairman